Remodeling Features: Other Fun & Interesting Items

These photos are a collection of some of the miscellaneous things I have done over the years that you may find interesting or inspiring.

Some other items that can add interest without adding a lot of cost are: crown molding, baseboards, shelves, bead-board, wainscot (this is a fun one as it can make a ceiling appear either higher or lower than it really is), decorative door and window casings, lighting, plumbing and electrical fixtures and trim. Other ideas are using products and materials where you don’t normally find them: exterior siding on a ceiling (see photo), artwork in a garden, old materials instead of new, re-purposing things to do something different, hidden cubbies for valuables, ramps to the front entry door of a home, exterior accent lighting. What others can you think of?

We ‘re-purpose’ a lot of things in our family.  (We used to call it ‘recycling,’ then ‘re-using.’)  The kids are all very creative at doing this and will bring home some amazing finds.  It’s been fun to see what we can do with what we find.

Stay tuned for more
Remodeling Features!

About Youngs & Company

I'm a licensed California contractor, specializing in distinctive home remodels and additions: kitchens, bathrooms and whole-house remodeling. A client recently told me, "Your passion is remodeling!" But, my focus is Customer Service - it's the only "product" I sell . . . remodeling just happens to be the way I do this. See me at my WEBSITE . . . http://YoungsCompany.com
This entry was posted in Home, Remodel, Remodeling Basics, Remodeling Your Home, Woodworking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remodeling Features: Other Fun & Interesting Items

  1. Hello There. I discovered your weblog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    • I do appreciate it. Check out some of the previous articles I’ve posted for more helpful information.
      If you find something particularly useful, please tell others that may also find it helpful for themselves.
      Thank you.

  2. tab dig says:

    I haven¡¦t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

